Logo a8886591e213a0b48708749c0d6deb8d870f4bdcb883966bfed5aa0b9a13c564

Bloom's Taxonomy of Learning Domains

A committee of colleagues, led by Benjamin Bloom (1956), identified three domains of educational activities:

  1. Cognitive (Critical Thinking) - Mind

    There are six degrees of critical thinking. The first is normally mastered before continuing to the next degree. Lorin Anderson, a former learner of Bloom, made several changes to the cognitive domain. The most notable are changing the names in the six categories from noun to verb form and slightly rearranging their order (Pohl, 2000).

    1. Remember - Simple recall of information.
      1. Remembers
      2. Lists
      3. Names
      4. Identifies
      5. Locates
      6. Memorizes
      7. Tells
      8. Recognizes
      9. Repeats
      10. Defines
    2. Understand - Basic explanation of the information.
      1. Labels
      2. Matches
      3. Explains
      4. Retells
      5. Restates
      6. Puts in order
      7. Summarizes
      8. Describes
    3. Apply - Using knowledge in a new situation.
      1. Demonstrates
      2. Teaches
      3. Uses knowledge
      4. Solves
      5. Gives an example
      6. Follows a procedure
      7. Constructs
      8. Paints
    4. Analyze - Taking information and dividing it into smaller parts.
      1. Categorizes
      2. Classifies
      3. Compares
      4. Contrasts
      5. Infers
      6. Organizes
      7. Charts
    5. Evaluate - Developing opinions, judgments, or decisions.
      1. Concludes
      2. Judges
      3. Prioritizes
      4. Ranks
      5. Selects
      6. Supports
      7. Justifies
      8. Defends
      9. Debates
    6. Create - Making an original idea from previous information.
      1. Composes
      2. Creates
      3. Designs
      4. Plans
      5. Invents
      6. Suggests
      7. Predicts
      8. Writes
      9. Produces
  2. Psychomotor (Movement) -Body

    The psychomotor domain did not produce a compilation by Bloom and his colleagues. For the purposes of Totetude's Pedagogical Planner, two popular versions Dave (1975) and Harrow (1972) have been modified and adapted for evaluation purposes and are as follows:

    1. Fundamental movements - demonstrating basic movements such as walking or grasping.
    2. Manipulation - performing certain actions by following instructions and practicing.
    3. Precision - performing certain actions by refining movements and becoming more exact.
    4. Coordination - harmonizing a series of actions.
    5. Naturalization - having high-level performance become natural, without needing to think much about it.
  3. Affective (Motivation) - Inner Self

    The affective domain (Krathwohl, Bloom, Masia, 1973) focuses on the way the learner deals with situations emotionally. Originally the categories were receiving phenomena, responding to phenomena, valuing, organization, and internalizing values. For the purposes of Totetude's Pedagogical Planner, the following categories have been modified and adapted as follows:

    1. Receive - The willingness to listen and provide attention.
      1. Joins
      2. Follows
    2. Respond - The willingness to actively participate.
      1. Answers
      2. Discusses
      3. Participates
    3. Value - The worth or importance of knowledge (based on behavior).
      1. Completes tasks
      2. Invites
      3. Initiates
    4. Manage - The ability to set goals and reach accomplishments.
      1. Modifies a task to meet personal goals (self-reliant)
      2. Prioritizes and plans how to complete a task productively (revises plans based on new information)
    5. Adapt- The ability to appropriately interact with others (teamwork)
      1. Participates appropriately in a small group
      2. Participates appropriately in a large group
      3. Takes turns
    6. Accept - The ability to embrace one's own morals and feelings.
      1. Accepts responsibility for own behavior
      2. Uses ethical and moral behaviors within a group (teamwork)
      3. Accepts people for who they are and not what they look like.